2018 Awards

It's a wonderful time of the year! We are now accepting nominations for outstanding Health Education and Physical Education professionals for the 2018 MAHPERD Awards.
This year, MAHPERD would like to recognize individuals for the following awards:
  • Simon McNeely
  • Teacher of the Year (TOY):
    • Elementary Physical Education (PE) TOY
    • Middle School PE TOY
    • High School PE TOY
    • Adapted PE TOY
    • Health Education TOY
  • Friend of MAHPERD
  • Distinguished Advocate for Healthful Living
  • William Burdick
  • R. Tait McKenzie
Descriptions for each of the MAHPERD awards are available by clicking the following - MAHPERD Award Descriptions
Please click the following to submit your nominations - 2018 MAHPERD Awards Nomination Form - by Friday, June 22, 2018.
Thank you for taking the time to submit these nominations. It is important to honor and support the dedication, knowledge, and experience these individuals bring to our profession, students, and others.


2017 Winners

Distinquished Friend of MAHPERD

Carly Wright, SHAPE America

Lauren Regalia, Frederick County Public Schools

Craig Staton, Montgomery County Public Schools


Distinquished Advocate for Healthful Living

Governor Larry Hogan


Health Teacher of the Year Award  

Carolyn Goode, Prince George’s County Public Schools


Elementary Physical Education Teacher of the Year Award

Joseph Basford, Frederick County Public Schools


Middle School Physical Education Teacher of the Year Award  

Bryan Godfrey, Anne Arundel County Public Schools


High School Physical Education Teacher of the Year

 Kimberly Collins, Anne Arundel County Public Schools


Adapted Physical Education Teacher of the Year Award

Matthew Mescall, Maryland School for the Blind                                


Athletic Honor Award

Daniel Harding, Queen Anne’s County Public Schools

Jeff Sullivan, Montgomery County Public Schools              


R. Tait MacKenzie

Rocco Aiello, St. Mary’s County Public Schools

Maureen Grizio, Anne Arundel County Public Schools


Outstanding Future Professional

Michael Phillips, Towson University

Presidential Citation

Sally Nazelrod, MAHPERD


Simon McNeely Awards

Anne Arundel County

Eric West

David Kellett

Chad Roberts


Baltimore County

Denise Chenoweth

Amy Happel

Scott Aumen

Danielle Monteleone

Lisa Curry


Charles County

Brent Stum

Leonard Ricketts

Rebecca Bullard



Frederick County

Sarah Palmer

Gary Burgess

Chris Barnhart


Howard County

Kimberly Kennedy

Elizabeth Schultz

Ross Chakrian


Montgomery County

Andrew Lee

Amanda Quay

Brian Brewer

Mike Robison


Prince George’s County

Lynn Krahling

LaQuiche Butler

Rebecca Arrington

Gerald Greenlaw

Antje Hultgren



Allison Bannon

Jennifer Hill

Allison Welkie

Leslie Bartoshesky


Mahperd Awards Database